top of page
Search

give yourself time


 

hey all! long time no talk!


I hope your year is off to a great start!

 

I know last time we chatted about focusing on the good even through the bad times.


I feel like when the new year rolls around it’s so easy to throw a new number on the year and call it a restart, but with that comes dedication.


recently, I have been feeling down.

I have just not felt like myself and that’s ok.

I have always been one to set goals, but

not new year resolutions.

you might be thinking isn’t a new

year resolution a goal?

 

let me tell you, yes it is.


but with new years resolutions, they are goals that you commit to starting on Jan. 1st of that new year.


goals that you say hey, this is what I’m going to focus on throughout this whole year. many times they are made into a long list of these are what I want to change.


I have always been a goal setter. a person that puts her mind to something and doesn’t go astray.


I work hard and will work long

if that’s what I need to do.


but there is a difference between setting

goals and setting a new year resolution.


let’s chat.

 

January 1st arrives and we are all excited and ready for the new year.


we look back on what the year before presented us with and are determined to change.


well, if you haven't found out yet, life happens.


you set these goals on the 1st of January and are ready to accomplish.


you are ready to kick off the new year...

 

oh boy! well then, life happens. I kicked off 2021 off with a broken bone.


I fell & broke my hand on Wednesday after running way too fast up the stairs. this led to me having to have surgery done this morning.


after I fell, I was so upset with myself. I began asking myself why I had to be moving at the speed of lightening? what was I in such a rush for?

 

then I stopped & said a little prayer.

 

I woke up Friday with a new perspective in hopes that I was going to just be presented with the idea of putting a hard cast on at the orthopedic. Instead, I was presented with all these scary things that would happen if I didn’t get surgery & the choice to get surgery.


again, I found myself quickly getting upset with myself & racking my brain with all the ideas that this could potentially ruin.

 

then again, I made myself stop & pray.

 

after settling down & coming to the conclusion that this

is obviously god’s plan over my plan.


I found myself realizing that this was my sign. this was my

sign to slow down. to take a step back & take care of myself.


at times I get so caught it up with work & life, I don’t

actually take the minute or minutes I need for myself.


obviously, I wish I didn’t have to have surgery

this morning. obviously, I wish I was going about

my daily day at work this week.


on the other hand, I’m going to be back at work

in no time & every thing is going to be just fine.

 

with that being said, let this serve as your reminder to slow down.


create goals, but not timelines because if it is truly

something you believe in, it will be there three weeks from now.


we get so caught up in the idea of accomplishing, that we forget about the growth.


take your time, goals are not a time clock.


if you wake up tomorrow with a goal on your heart, go for it.


we need to stop waiting for Jan. 1st.

 

take care of yourself.

 
 

have the best week loves!


XO,

kenz



Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page