top of page
Search

Let’s Talk TIE DYE


Hello -- Hello --


I am so EXCITED to be back talking to ya today! Unfortunately, I have been so sick for the past two weeks. These winter colds are NO JOKE! I am so thankful to be feeling better and getting back to my normal routine!

Trend Alert


Tuning into the past few times we have had the chance to talk -- I let y’all know how POPULAR tie - dye is going to be this season. I know that you have been seeing it everywhere on social media & as I have mentioned my FAV store -- Target -- has a large assortment of this throwback pattern.

With that being said, over the past few weeks, I have been thinking & quickly got a little bit nostalgic. I had a flashback of being at summer camp when I was little and sitting at craft time. During this time of day we had the chance to make friendship bracelets and would tie - dye white tees.

It quickly sparked a light in my creativity and I was on a mission!!


My little brother & I have always shared a love for fashion. He recently has been really into the thrifting trend which is taking our industry by storm. We got talking one day about how much we were loving the current trends and wanted to add some flare of our own.


I said alright -- you ready to channel to our 10 year old roots? it’s time to tie - dye!


Let's STYLE UP


As always -- it wouldn't be a blog without some styling tips!


Check out how we styled up our tie - dye!


Girl's Style

Let's style it up -- I am so LOVIN' this casual look -- grab your favorite tie - dye tee, then grab your favorite denim & sneakers to style the tee up! Not only is this outfit so comfortable -- but it is so in style too! Since the tee is oversized - I tucked the bottom into my bralette -- this allows the tee to layer flat rather than bunch in the front!


Sticking to the comfy style -- I am lovin' the jogger hype! They are so comfortable, but can also be styled up so cute -- grab your favorite tie - dye tee & sneakers to complete an

outfit -- I always tie up my oversized tees to add some shape & flare!


Boy's Style

As I mentioned -- my brother is really into fashion too! We were talking the other about how popular street style is throughout our industry -- Luke, said that he is lovin' the style of mixin' up patterns!


Here is his advice -- grab your favorite thrifted tee & tie - dye it up -- then pair it with a fun pair of colored or patterned joggers -- Finally, finish the outfit up with your favorite sneakers!



Let's TIE - DYE


Thank ya so much for sticking with me til' this point -- now you get to find out how we customized our thrifted tees!


BLEACH TIE - DYE


  1. GRAB YOUR TEE - As I mentioned, we thrifted our tees -- this allowed us to grab the vintage style that we were looking for ! For our bleach dye -- we focused on a black color base for the tee -- this allows the bleach to appear more!

  2. RUBBER BAND IT UP - In order to achieve your tie - dye design, you have to rubber band the tee -- for our shirts, we wanted to be more creative, so we banded up our tees in more of a random way -- with that being said, I attached a link below that shows you some fun options to band your tee!

  3. SPRAY - Now it's time to add your bleach to the tee -- we bought our bleach at Walmart & purchased the spray bottle type -- this allowed the bleach to be more contained and controlled. For some of our tees, we saturated every section of the rubber bands -- others we decided to only spray every other section!

  4. DRY - After we sprayed our shirts -- we left them to dry for 10 mins -- this allows the bleach to set in & appear more into the tees -- after about 10 mins you can take the rubber bands off the tee.

  5. WASH - Let's finish this process up - throw the tee in the washer -- do not include any detergent or products -- this allows any extra residue to wash out of the tee -- After you wash the tee, throw it in the dryer to finish up!


COLORED TIE - DYE


  1. GRAB YOUR TEE - As I mentioned, we thrifted our tees -- this allowed us to grab the vintage style that we were looking for ! For our bleach dye -- we focused on a White color base for the tee -- this allows the bleach to appear more!

  2. RUBBER BAND IT UP - In order to achieve your tie - dye design, you have to rubber band the tee -- for our shirts, we wanted to be more creative, so we banded up our tees in more of a random way -- with that being said, I attached a link below that shows you some fun options to band your tee!

  3. DYE - We purchased our tie - dye from Walmart ( I made sure to link it below ) -- it was pretty simple, you can follow the directions in the package -- you just add water to the powder -- For some of our tees, we saturated each section, so that the color would appear more - others we simply added drops of the tie dye - also, make sure that you do not leak your dye into separate sections -- this makes colors mix into browns at times!

  4. DRY - After we sprayed our shirts -- we left them to dry for 10 mins -- this allows the bleach to set in & appear more into the tees -- after about 10 mins you can take the rubber bands off the tee.

  5. WASH - Let's finish this process up - throw the tee in the washer -- do not include any detergent or products -- this allows any extra residue to wash out of the tee -- After you wash the tee, throw it in the dryer to finish up!



Thank you so much for reading this far -- As always, the support means the world!

I love being able to tune in each week & share my ideas -- I hope that with reading, you are finding things that interest you!


Feel free to message me -- I love to chat & would love to hear your ideas!


talk soon!


XO,

KENZ

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page